Remove this ad

Lead

Oct 23 12 7:34 PM

Tags : :

I always have liked this image, although it tends to be less discussed or coveted, probably because we don't see her eyes? I have often thought, "What is Nagel's woman doing? I mean really?" and since I have been on the forum have asked others to replies of "watching a tennis match," "lounging by a desert pool on her stomach," "running." I have always felt she was leaning on a bike. It was the obvious choice for me and I when I first saw this image I saw the bike. I know its not there but it was in my mind. Well after seeing the image for the first time in person last night (by the way she is beautiful and I love her blush line) I decided to try and find a real answer. Remember I am a newbie so if everyone already has this figured out my apologies. I know this poster was done for the Silver Sunbeam Gallery in New Mexico. But I simply googled Silver Sunbeam and learned there is a very well known Sunbeam Cycles company. Well looking deeper its just plain fun to see...http://sunbeammuseum.wordpress.com/1939--silver-sunbeam-23-gents-roadster/. So for me unless someone else tells me otherwise I still think Nagel's Silver Sunbeam woman is riding her Silver Sunbeam bike.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#2 [url]

Oct 23 12 8:26 PM

Ha! Swimmersgirl, I love it. Since your post has my imagination going...

Another possibility; she might be seated wearing a tube top or a strapless terry short onesie and pulling an athletic sock back up after a challenging game of tennis in the desert while contemplating the mountainous Albuquerque horizon.

Quote    Reply   

enzo

regular

#3 [url]

Oct 23 12 9:45 PM

I have a new hypothesis. The cactus and she are casting shadows on the wall. Gotta be ping pong. Unless Nagel thought you can cast a shadow on the Albuquerque horizon. Which he probably did.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad

#4 [url]

Oct 24 12 6:29 AM